Southwest too much for FPB


Five Points Bank's second baseman Mason Spilinek (left) and
first baseman Alex Panganiban fail to make a catch in the
seventh inning against Lincoln Southwest Thursday night at
Duncan Field.

It doesn't help to argue with an umpire. Even when he might make a wrong call.

The home plate umpire might have blown a call in the first inning that helped catapult Lincoln Southwest to a two-run lead and eventually a 10-1 win over Hastings Five Points Bank Thursday.

Who knows how the inning might have played out. But Hastings coach Steve Illingworth said Young's line drive was "clearly foul."

"Even (LSW's) coach told our first baseman that it was foul," Illingworth said. "My right fielder said it was foul by a couple of feet. I don't expect umpires to be perfect. It was just a call he missed. I'm not going to be critical of it. It was just close enough, and we didn't get the call."

To read more, see Friday's Hastings Tribune or the Tribune e-edition.>>>


Copyright © 2014