Rodeo draws big crowd, big laughs

Weston Ireland of Sallisaw, Okla. is bucked off Bandito Gold
during the saddle bronc event during the Oregon Trail Rodeo
Sunday night at the Adams County Fairgrounds.

The events that comprised the 22nd annual Oregon Trail Rodeo this Labor Day weekend showed that victories in rodeo occur both inside and outside the competition ring.

More than 180 cowboys and cowgirls performed in the three-night rodeo that drew a crowd of about 5,000 people, event organizers estimated this morning.

Attendees from across the state and region saw world-recognized rodeo competitors vie for a high finish in seven events.

"It was a fantastic rodeo," said Sandy Himmelberg, manager of the Adams County Fairgrounds and one of the overseers of the event.

Himmelberg said that this year's rodeo clown John Harrison was a crowd favorite, entertaining both kids and adults with rolling, punchy jokes that helped transition the crowd from one event to the next.

The following are the final results of the Oregon Trail Rodeo:
Bareback riding
1. Ty Breuer, Mandan, N.D.—79 points
2. Evan Jayne, Marseille, France—76
3. (tie) Joe Gunderson, Agar, SD—75 and Bee Jay Scott, Otley, Iowa—75
5. Casey Breuer, Mandan, N.D.—72
6. Jet Price, Buffalo, SD—70
Tie down roping
1. Jerrad Hofstetter, Lubbock, Texas—8.1 seconds
2. Jerome Schneeberger, Ponca City,—8.3
3. Ryan Bothum, Caddo,—8.6
4. Garrett, McCoOkla., Neb.—8.8
5. Tyler Garten, Kingman, Kan.—9.2
6. Cody Quaney, Cheney, Kan.—10.2
7. Perry Dietz, Alva,—10.4
8. Trell Etbauer, Goodwell,—10.6.

Saddle bronc riding
1. Joseph Dean Lufkin, Sallisaw,—84 points
2 Jesse Bail, Camp CroOkla., SD—82 
3 Ty Thompson, Wanblee, SD—80
4. Joe Harper, Goodwell,—78
5. Ryan Bestol, Hyannis, Neb.—76
6. (tie) Trell Etbauer, Goodwell,—74 and Kyle Whitaker, Chambers, Neb.—74

Steer wrestling
1. Ryan Swayze, Freedom,—4.7
2. Stockton Graves, Alva,—5.8
3. (tie) Kody Woodward, Dupree, SD—6.1 and Lucas Camac, Augusta, Kan.—6.1
5. Colt Stearns, Freedom,—6.5
6. Trell Etbauer, Goodwell,—6.7
7. Collin Chytka, BrOkla.en Bow, Neb.—7.6
8. Weston Taylor, Perryton, Texas—9.0.

Team roping
1. Brandon Vaske, Alva, Boekhaus, Alva,—7.2
2. Nicholas Thompson, Stillwater, Harmon, Mustang,—8.1
3. Trell Etbauer, Goodwell, Bestol, Hyannis, Neb.—8.6
4. Nick Sartain, Dover, Skelton, Llano, Texas—9.5
5. Trent Barrett, North Platte, Neb./Alex Salazar, Littleton, Colo.—9.6
6. Jeff Johnston, Thedford, Neb./Levi Tyan, Wallace, Neb.—9.7.

Barrel racing
1. Gretchen Benbenek, Aubrey, Texas—17.15 seconds
2. Kaley Bass, Kissimmee, Fla.—17.26
3. Annesa Self, Sanger, Texas—17.45
4. June Holeman, Arcadia, Neb.—17.54
5. Cindy Gillespie, Ransom, Kan.—17.58
6. Jessica Bauman-Maahs, Hickman, Neb.—17.63
7. Cheryl Wallace, BrOkla.en Bow, Neb.—17.82
8. LeAnn Stockton, Stigler, Okla.—17.94
9. Marne Loosenort, Hazel, Kent.—17.98
10. Laura Kennedy, Quitman, Ark.—17.99

Bull riding
1. Tanner Bothwell, Rapid City, SD—82 points
2. Handy Andy Coughlin, Timber Lake, SD—80
3. Paddy Church, Big Springs, Neb.—79
4. Wyatt Gregg, Highmore, SD—75
5. Cody Sierks, Brewster, Neb.—73
6. Bart Miller, Oshkosh, Neb.—72

To read more, see Tuesday's Hastings Tribune or the Tribune e-edition.>>>

Copyright © 2014